Skip to content

Spartanburg’s Wofford College, Home of the Panther’s Training Camp

Wofford College, founded in 1854, is a liberal arts college located in Spartanburg, South Carolina. It is affiliated with the United Methodist Church. Located a few blocks north of Spartanburg’s central business district, the campus was designated a National Historic District in 1974. Wofford’s Roger Milliken Arboretum covers over 150 acres of trees, a green oasis in an urban setting.

The college has an excellent academic program. Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees are conferred in 26 major fields of study. In addition Wofford offers pre-professional programs in education, engineering, law, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, veterinary science, and ministry.

Wofford has a strong athletics program. Seventeen men’s and women’s teams compete in NCAA Division I sports including football, basketball, baseball, soccer, tennis, and golf. Wofford is a member of the Southern Conference.

There are approximately 1,400 undergraduates enrolled at Wofford College. Ninety-four percent of the students live in on-campus housing. Options include newer apartment style housing as well as several traditional dorms.

The Carolina Panthers football team will hold their 2010 training camp at Wofford College from July 28 to August 18. All of the training sessions are free and open to the public. They last from 90 minutes to two hours. The Panthers are returning to Wofford for the sixteenth year, and they consider the training facilities there to be among the best in the NFL.

Spartanburg is a major city in the Upcountry of South Carolina. Its location in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains ensures that outdoor enthusiasts have plenty of activities from which to choose. The area also has several historical museums and battlefields to visit, as well as Spartanburg’s historic downtown area. Visitors may also visit the Spartanburg Art Museum or one of the many art galleries around town. In addition to Wofford College, Spartanburg is the home of five other universities and colleges.